How did you pass the covid period with your national squad?

Because the Dutch government recognizes the programme of TeamNL Korfbal as top sport, TeamNL Korfbal was able to continue the programme. The lessons learned in our training centre Papendal helped us to form a blueprint for the Korfbal League 2020/2021, that fortunately also could be played. Training matches of TeamNL Korfbal were broadcasted and the team members visited the clubs. Everything to keep inspiring all these korfball players, who couldn’t play matches. Last June, TeamNL Korfbal played a friendly match against Belgium.

It has been a while since the last big tournament, has your squad and/or staff changed over time?

After the cancellation of the European Championship last year, Jan Niebeek became the new head coach. Ruben Boode is his assistant. In the last couple of years, Niebeek managed to win four Korfbal League-titles with TOP/LITTA.

What is your teams’ ambition for the EKC?

TeamNL Korfbal of course wants to reach and win the final. Also the staff and team want to inspire the fans and other teams to keep pushing our sport to a higher level.

Are you familiar with Antwerp, the host city of the EKC?

Yes. Antwerp is close to The Netherlands and of course the World Championship in 2015 has given us good memories. Boeckenberg Sportcenter and the Lotto Arena are great places to battle. 

Any other information you would like to share with the korfball supporters?

TeamNL Korfbal is delighted to play real matches again and looking forward to share our passion with the other teams and fans(!) again. Do you want to follow TeamNL Korfbal? Check @teamnlkorfbal on Instagram!

2 Esther Cordus (KZ/Thermo4U)
3 Barbara Brouwer (TOP/LITTA)
4 Brett Zuijdwegt (PKC/Vertom)
5 Sanne van der Werff (PKC/Vertom)
7 Celeste Split (Fortuna/Delta Logistiek)
9 Fleur Hoek (Fortuna/Delta Logistiek)
24 Femke Faber (LDODK/Rinsma Modeplein)

10 Richard Kunst (PKC/Vertom)
11 Olav van Wijngaarden (PKC/Vertom)
14 Harjan Visscher (Fortuna/Delta Logistiek)
15 Mick Snel (Fortuna/Delta Logistiek)
17 Laurens Leeuwenhoek (PKC/Vertom)
19 Jelmer Jonker (PKC/Vertom)
20 Daan Preuninger (Fortuna/Delta Logistiek)